Largest Cities in Kiribati

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Kiribati

Official languages: English
Capital: Tarawa
Area: 811 km²
Population: 92,533 residents
Population density: 114.10 residents per km²
Currency: AUD
Internet TLD: .ki
ISO codes: KI, KIR, 296
The telephone code for Kiribati is +686

Flag of Kiribati

Adopted in 1979, the flag of Kiribati is composed of six waves in blue and white, a yellow sun and a flying frigate. All this is placed on a red sheet. The waves are meant to symbolize the Pacific Ocean that washes the shores of Kiribati, and the frigate in flight signifies dominion over the ocean. The flag was adopted the year Kiribati achieved independence from Great Britain. Its image is based on the coat of arms that was granted to the islands in 1937 together with the then Ellice Islands, now Tuvalu. Likewise, Kiribati was called the Gilbert Islands at that time. Before 1979, the flag of the islands was represented by the blue British service flag with the Gilbert Islands emblem.


Flag of Kiribati

Kiribati is an island nation in the Pacific. The state territory extends over a large number of islands in Micronesia and Polynesia, which are scattered over a wide area north and south of the equator. The easternmost of the Line Islands (Caroline Island) has been called “Millennium Island” since January 1, 2000, because the first sunrise of the 3rd millennium could be observed on this island. See Kiribati Location on World Map.

Most of the country is less than two meters above sea level. This makes Kiribati one of the first countries that will largely sink into the sea as a result of climate change.

Biggest Cities of Kiribati by Population

Kiribati is a nation located in the central Pacific Ocean, with a population of over 115,000 people. Its capital city is South Tarawa which is the largest city in Kiribati and home to more than 46,000 people. The city is known for its vibrant culture, stunning beaches and crystal-clear waters making it a popular destination for tourists.

Other major cities in Kiribati include Betio located near the Gilbert Islands and known as ‘the City of Smiles’; Bikenibeu located near the Phoenix Islands and known as ‘the City of Love’; or Tarawa located on the central side of Kiribati and known as ‘the City of Heaven’.

Kiribati also contains some smaller cities such as Abemama located near the Line Islands and home to many churches; Tabiteuea located near Tabiteuea Atoll and home to many museums; or Marakei located on the south-central side of Kiribati and known for its pearl production.

Throughout Kiribati there are plenty of attractions to explore including mosques, churches, museums, national parks, beaches and monuments. Visitors can also enjoy activities such as snorkelling or exploring islands or take part in water sports on Lake Tebunginako.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Tarawa, Kiribati 40,422 1.3278 172.977
2 Betio Village, Kiribati 12,620 1.35797 172.921
3 Bikenibeu Village, Kiribati 6,281 1.3673 173.124

Kiribati: South Tarawa

According to Abbreviation Finder, South Tarawa is the name of the capital of Kiribati , more than half of the population of Kiribati live in the capital. Unfortunately, climate change and especially the rising sea level can already be seen here. It’s even worse in the small atolls in the neighborhood, which is why many Kiribati residents are fleeing to the capital.