Largest Cities in Liechtenstein

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Liechtenstein

Official languages: German
Capital: Vaduz
Area: 160 km²
Population: 35,000 residents
Population density: 218.75 residents per km²
Currency: CHF
Internet TLD: .li
ISO codes: LI, LIE, 438
The telephone code for Liechtenstein is +423

Flag of Liechtenstein

The Principality of Liechtenstein was established in 1719 and became a state in 1806. The flag is composed of two equally wide horizontal stripes, of which the upper one is blue and the lower one is red. In addition, the motif of a golden prince’s crown is placed in the pole part of the blue stripe. The crown was added to the flag in 1937 so that it would not be confused with the Haitian flag at the Berlin Olympics. In the same year, a new interpretation of the flag was accepted, which says that the blue stripe symbolizes the sky, the red stripe represents the heat of the fires during the evening gatherings, and the golden one signifies the physical and mental unity of the people, the state and the royal house.


Flag of Liechtenstein

Liechtenstein is a landlocked country in Central Europe, surrounded by the Swiss cantons of St. Gallen and Graubünden in the west and the Austrian state of Vorarlberg in the east. Together with Uzbekistan, it is one of the 2 landlocked states in the world that are themselves only surrounded by landlocked states.

With around 37,500 residents, the state is the smallest state in the German-speaking area. German is the official and national language at the same time. The proportion of foreigners is almost 34 percent.

Liechtenstein was known as a tax haven. The Liechtenstein tax affair and offshore leaks contributed to Liechtenstein signing an international agreement to prevent tax evasion in November 2013.

Biggest Cities of Liechtenstein by Population

Liechtenstein is a small landlocked country located in central Europe, with a population of just over 38,000 people. Its capital city is Vaduz which is the largest city in Liechtenstein and home to more than 5,000 people. The city is known for its stunning mountainside views, vibrant nightlife and diverse culture making it a popular destination for tourists.

Other major cities in Liechtenstein include Schaan located near the Rhine River and known as ‘the City of Gardens’; Triesen located near the Alps and known as ‘the City of Castles’; or Balzers located on the western side of Liechtenstein and known as ‘the City of Monasteries’.

Liechtenstein also contains some smaller cities such as Eschen located near the Ill River and home to many churches; Mauren located near the Rhine River and home to many museums; or Ruggell located on the northern side of Liechtenstein and known for its wine production.

Throughout Liechtenstein there are plenty of attractions to explore including mountains, forests, lakes, castles, monasteries, vineyards and ski resorts. Visitors can also enjoy activities such as hiking or exploring caves or take part in water sports on Lake Obersee.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Schaan, Liechtenstein 5,859 47.165 9.50867
2 Vaduz, Liechtenstein 5,308 47.1415 9.52154
3 Triesen, Liechtenstein 4,812 47.1075 9.52815
4 Balzers, Liechtenstein 4,558 47.0667 9.50251
5 Eschen, Liechtenstein 4,119 47.2107 9.52223
6 Mauren, Liechtenstein 3,737 47.218 9.5442
7 Triesenberg, Liechtenstein 2,800 47.1181 9.54197
8 Ruggell, Liechtenstein 1,973 47.238 9.5254
9 Gamprin, Liechtenstein 1,379 47.2204 9.50935
10 Schellenberg, Liechtenstein 1,115 47.2312 9.54678
11 Planken, Liechtenstein 488 47.1852 9.54437

Liechtenstein: Vaduz

The capital and seat of the Prince of Liechtenstein is called Vaduz. Vaduz is also an international financial center because many banking transactions are carried out here. Vaduz was founded in the 14th century. By the way, Vaduz means something like “Valley of the Germans”. Vaduz is the capital of Liechtenstein, but only a little over 5000 people live there.

It is the capital, but not even the largest city in the country in terms of population. Because that’s a place called Schaan. But Vaduz is the seat of the authorities, the seat of parliament and, since 1939, the seat of the Prince of Liechtenstein. This is where the princely castle is located, which dates back to the 12th century and was restored in the 20th century. The royal family lives here. However, you are not allowed to visit the castle, only look at it from the outside. However, if you go up to the castle, you have a wonderful view of the city.

Neighboring countries of Liechtenstein