Largest Cities in Luxembourg

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Luxembourg

Official languages: Luxembourgish, German, French
Capital: Luxembourg
Area: 2,586 km²
Population: 497,538 residents
Population density: 192.40 residents per km²
Currency: EUR
Internet TLD: .lu
ISO codes: LU, LUX, 442
Die The dialing code for Luxembourg is +352

Flag of Luxembourg

The flag of Luxembourg is composed of a red-white-blue tricolor in horizontal form. The flag is very similar to the flag of the Netherlands, as the two states were part of a personal union in the 19th century. However, they differ in the shade of the blue stripe, which is lighter in the case of the Luxembourg flag, and in the aspect ratio. Luxembourg was under the rule of the Habsburgs for a long time and only achieved de facto independence in 1867, although it was officially declared a Grand Duchy already at the Congress of Vienna in 1815. The flag was adopted in 1972 and the colors of the tricolor were taken from the coat of arms of the Grand Duchy, which depicts a red two-tailed lion on red-blue background.


Flag of Luxembourg

Luxembourg is a country in Western Europe. Together with Belgium and the Netherlands, it forms the Benelux countries.
With an area of ​​2586 square kilometers, Luxembourg is one of the smallest territorial states in the world and the second smallest country in the European Union after the island state of Malta.

The name Luxembourg comes from the castle Lucilinburhuc, from which the capital Luxembourg developed. It is the last Grand Duchy or Grand Duchy (of twelve) in Europe.

Luxembourg has a broad medium-sized economy, but the financial sector determines economic life (18.1% of GDP in 2015). The standard of living and wages in Luxembourg are high. The gross domestic product (GDP) per capita of 91,600 € (2015) is by far the highest in the EU. In 2015 economic growth was 4.8%.

Biggest Cities of Luxembourg by Population

Luxembourg is a small country located in western Europe, with a population of just over 600,000 people. Its capital city is Luxembourg City which is the largest city in Luxembourg and home to more than 115,000 people. The city is known for its stunning architecture, vibrant nightlife and diverse culture making it a popular destination for tourists.

Other major cities in Luxembourg include Esch-sur-Alzette located near the Moselle River and known as ‘the City of Steel’; Differdange located near the border with Germany and known as ‘the City of Hospitals’; or Dudelange located on the southern side of Luxembourg and known as ‘the City of Culture’.

Luxembourg also contains some smaller cities such as Ettelbruck located near the Sauer River and home to many churches; Grevenmacher located near the Moselle River and home to many museums; or Mersch located on the central side of Luxembourg and known for its wine production.

Throughout Luxembourg there are plenty of attractions to explore including forests, valleys, castles, monasteries, vineyards and ski resorts. Visitors can also enjoy activities such as hiking or exploring caves or take part in water sports on Lake Echternach.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Luxembourg, Luxembourg 76,795 49.6117 6.13
2 Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg 28,339 49.4958 5.98056
3 Dudelange, Luxembourg 18,124 49.4806 6.0875
4 Schifflange, Luxembourg 8,266 49.5064 6.01278
5 Bettembourg, Luxembourg 7,548 49.5186 6.10278
6 Petange, Luxembourg 7,298 49.5583 5.88056
7 Ettelbruck, Luxembourg 6,475 49.8475 6.10417
8 Diekirch, Luxembourg 6,353 49.8678 6.15583
9 Strassen, Luxembourg 6,117 49.6206 6.07333
10 Bertrange, Luxembourg 5,726 49.6111 6.05
11 Belvaux, Luxembourg 5,424 49.5101 5.92414
12 Differdange, Luxembourg 5,407 49.5242 5.89139
13 Mamer, Luxembourg 5,128 49.6275 6.02333
14 Wiltz, Luxembourg 4,927 49.9655 5.9339
15 Grevenmacher, Luxembourg 4,069 49.6775 6.44022
16 Mersch, Luxembourg 3,575 49.7489 6.10611
17 Redange-sur-Attert, Luxembourg 1,275 49.7644 5.88997

Luxembourg: Luxembourg

The capital of Luxembourg is called just like the country: Luxembourg. 115,200 people live here. It is also the largest city in the country. It’s in the south. Incidentally, it is called Stad Lëtzebuerg in Luxembourgish and Ville de Luxembourg in French. The Luxembourgers themselves usually only speak of D`Stad.

The city of Luxembourg is (besides Brussels and Strasbourg) also the administrative seat of the European Union. This means that important authorities can be found here, such as the European Court of Justice.

Countries neighboring Luxembourg