Largest Cities in Marshall Islands

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Marshall Islands

Official languages: Marshallese, English
Capital: Majuro
Area: 181 km²
Population: 65,859 residents
Population density: 363.26 residents per km²
Currency: USD
Internet TLD: .mh
ISO codes: MH, MHL, 584
The telephone code for Marshall Islands is +692

Flag of Marshall Islands

The Marshall Islands are located in the northern part of the Pacific Ocean and the basis of their flag is a dark blue leaf. From the lower left corner of the sheet, rays of white and orange colors come out, which gradually expand and touch the upper right corner. In addition, there is a white star with four long and twenty shorter rays in the left part of the flag. The 24 spokes represent the same number of administrative districts of the islands, and the long spokes are meant to refer to the Christian tradition on the islands and the four largest cities here. The orange color of the top stripe represents the wealth of the islands, while the white represents hope. The dark blue background evokes the Pacific Ocean, which surrounds the islands.


Flag of Marshall Islands

The Republic of the Marshall Islands is an island nation in the western Pacific Ocean. The state comprises the archipelago of the same name, which consists of 34 widely scattered atolls in the middle of the Pacific. The archipelago of the Marshall Islands consists of two almost parallel chain of islands or atolls : The Ratak chain (sunrise islands) with 14 atolls and 2 islands in the east and the Ralik chain (sunset islands) with 15 atolls and 3 islands in the west. To the island chains together belong around 1,225 larger and smaller islands as well as 870 reefs, which extend over an area of ​​almost 2 million km² in the central Pacific. The land area of ​​181 km² rises on average around 2 meters above sea level. See Marshall Islands Location on World Map.

Apart from the fact that they were settled from Micronesia in the 2nd millennium BC, little is known about the early history of the islands. After a German trading company was established on the islands in 1885, the islands officially became part of the German New Guinea colony in 1906 . Japanese soldiers captured it in 1914 during the First World War and built military bases on it. After the war, Japan was officially entrusted with the administration of the islands by the League of Nations as part of the Japanese South Seas mandate. During the Second World War, the archipelago was attacked by the USA because of the archipelago’s strategic location. After the war, the islands belonged to the US Pacific Islands Trust Territory on behalf of the United Nations.

The US carried out atomic and hydrogen bomb tests on Bikini Atoll and Eniwetok until the 1960s. After the resettlement of the original residents, increased radioactivity was found, so that the residents had to be resettled again.

In 1979, the Marshall Islands became independent as a republic and signed an association agreement with the USA that came into force in 1986. They achieved full formal independence under international law in 1990 after the UN’s protection mandate to the USA officially ended ( UN Trusteeship Council ). The Marshall Islands, Micronesia and Palau are among the few states that consistently vote against Cuba and for Israel in the UN General Assembly on the side of the USA.

The country’s economy relies heavily on support from the United States of America. The United States will provide US $ 57.7 million annually in assistance through 2013 and US $ 62.7 million annually from 2014 through 2023 for the Marshall Islands. Thereafter, an indefinite annual payment will come from a trust fund jointly established by the United States and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Biggest Cities of Marshall Islands by Population

The Marshall Islands is a small island nation located in the Pacific Ocean. It is home to three of the largest cities in the country. Majuro, the capital and largest city of the Marshall Islands, has a population of around 25,000 people. It features attractions like Laura Beach which is known for its white sandy beach and crystal clear waters; Delap Park which serves as an important cultural site; and Majuro Atoll which offers stunning views of surrounding landscape.

Ebeye is the second-largest city in Marshall Islands with a population of around 10,000 people. It serves as an important trading hub for fishing and agricultural products such as coconuts, bananas, and taro root. Ebeye also features several tourist attractions like Ebeye Historical Museum which houses artifacts from local culture; Japanese War Memorial which pays tribute to Japanese soldiers who died during World War II; and Kalalin Pass where visitors can take leisurely strolls through lush greenery while admiring views of nearby lagoon.

Jaluit is the third-largest city in Marshall Islands with a population of around 4,000 people. It boasts some interesting tourist attractions like Jaluit Atoll which offers stunning views of surrounding landscape; Jaluit Harbor where visitors can observe traditional fishing boats used by local fishermen; and Jaluit Historical Museum which houses artifacts from local culture including traditional tools used by islanders during ancient times.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Majuro, Marshall Islands 25,511 7.08971 171.38
2 Ebaye, Marshall Islands 15,111 8.77479 167.739
3 Arno, Marshall Islands 2,179 7.06691 171.554
4 Jabor, Marshall Islands 1,311 5.92098 169.643
5 Wotje, Marshall Islands 991 9.45429 170.237
6 Mili, Marshall Islands 965 6.0815 171.735
7 Namdrik, Marshall Islands 925 5.59944 168.103
8 Ebon, Marshall Islands 825 4.58199 168.696
9 Kili, Marshall Islands 713 5.64387 169.121
10 Likiep, Marshall Islands 593 9.82511 169.311
11 Ailuk, Marshall Islands 562 10.2197 169.98
12 Ujae, Marshall Islands 559 8.93218 165.764
13 Aur, Marshall Islands 549 8.1499 171.169
14 Utrik, Marshall Islands 520 11.2278 169.847
15 Lae, Marshall Islands 430 8.92217 166.263
16 Mejit, Marshall Islands 411 10.2753 170.865

Marshall Islands: Majuro Atoll

According to Abbreviation Finder, the Majuro Atoll , on which the capital of the Marshall Islands is located, is part of the Ratak chain. This includes 14 atolls and two islands with a land area of ​​almost 88 square kilometers. The Ralik Group comprises 15 atolls and three islands and is a bit larger at 93 square kilometers.