Largest Cities in Nauru

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Nauru

Official languages: Nauruan, English
Capital: Yaren
Area: 21 km²
Population: 10,065 residents
Population density: 479.29 residents per km²
Currency: AUD
Internet TLD: .nr
ISO codes: NR, NRU, 520
The telephone code for Nauru is +674

Flag of Nauru

The base of Nauru’s flag, which was adopted in 1976 when the country achieved independence, is a dark blue leaf. It is cut in the middle with a yellow stripe and below it, closer to the mast part, is a white twelve-pointed star. Each of the tips is supposed to represent one of the twelve tribes that inhabited the island, two of which no longer exist today. The yellow stripe symbolizes the equator and the star the position of the island relative to it. The blue color of the leaf is meant to resemble the Pacific Ocean that surrounds the island. The design of the flag was chosen through a public competition, in which the design of an Australian designer won. It is also interesting that Nauru is the smallest independent territory in the world.


Flag of Nauru

Nauru is an island state with around 10,000 residents. In terms of area, Nauru is the third smallest recognized state and the smallest republic in the world after Tuvalu, in terms of population.

Nauru is located in the Pacific Ocean and consists of the coral island of the same name, which belongs to the island world of Micronesia (not to be confused with the state of the Federated States of Micronesia ), as well as the territorial waters belonging to the state within a radius of twelve nautical miles.

For a long time, the residents of Nauru were able to live from the depletion of the rich phosphate stocks. When these ran out, it became apparent that the state and most of the citizens had not invested the profits in a future-proof manner. Nauru, which at the time of phosphate mining still had the highest per capita income worldwide, became increasingly impoverished after the complete extraction of the only resource.

Public finances are therefore regularly on the verge of bankruptcy, but have been stabilized in recent years by support measures coordinated by the Pacific Islands Forum.

Biggest Cities of Nauru by Population

Nauru is a small island nation located in Micronesia. It is home to a population of over 10,000 people and is known for its unique culture, lush landscapes and fascinating history. The largest city in Nauru is the capital city of Yaren which has a population of over 6,000 people. This bustling city serves as the country’s political and economic hub and features some great attractions such as the Nauru National Museum, Government House and Anibare Bay which are all worth visiting during your stay here.

The second largest city in Nauru is Denigomodu which has a population of around 1,000 people. This small town serves as an important cultural center for the country and features some great attractions such as the Menen Hotel & Casino, Aiwo Beach and Anibare Park which are all worth visiting during your stay here. Other cities worth visiting in Nauru include Boeaboea, Aiwo and Yaren District which all have unique attractions that make them great destinations for travelers looking for something off the beaten path.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Yaren, Nauru 1,211 -0.55085 166.925
2 Baiti, Nauru 921 -0.50803 166.929
3 Anabar, Nauru 489 -0.50845 166.953
4 Uaboe, Nauru 441 -0.51393 166.924
5 Ijuw, Nauru 291 -0.521 166.958

Nauru: Yaren

The island republic does not have a capital, but there is a seat of government in the town of Yaren.