Largest Cities in Kyrgyzstan

by | January 20, 2021

Facts about Kyrgyzstan

Official languages: Kyrgyz, Uzbek, Russian
Capital: Bishkek
Area: 198,500 km²
Population: 5.5 million residents
Population density: 27.75 residents per km²
Currency: KGS
Internet TLD: .kg
ISO codes: KG, KGZ , 417
The dialing code for Kyrgyzstan is +996

Flag of Kyrgyzstan

The flag of Kyrgyzstan is composed of a red leaf and a yellow symbol resembling the sun. The sun has 40 rays to represent the 40 tribes living in the earth. In the middle of the sun there is a strange figure, which is supposed to resemble the vault of a yurt, the traditional dwelling of the local steppe peoples. The red leaf probably originated from the red banner of the national hero Manas, who united all 40 tribes into one state. The golden sun symbolizes peace and wealth, and the yurt signifies brotherhood among the tribes and peoples of the land. The flag was adopted quite a long time after the collapse of the Soviet Union and half a year after the declaration of independence, only in 1992.


Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan is a state in Central Asia. See Kyrgyzstan Location on World Map. In general linguistic usage and in the media in Germany there is a certain lack of clarity about the exact country name. According to the Foreign Office, the official German-speaking country name is Kyrgyzstan. The name Kyrgyzstan and the name Kyrgyzstan, which was common in Soviet times, are also common. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Kyrgyz tried to strengthen their national identity by returning to their Turkish-speaking culture and chose Кыргызстан / Kırgızstan as the country name. This name with the originally Persian ending for region or country “-stan” underlines the cultural relationship with other Turkic-speaking countries such as Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. It is controversial here whether the correct translation of this designation into German Kyrgyzstan or Kyrgyzstan is. The only official German name of the country used by the Foreign Office is Kyrgyzstan.

Biggest Cities of Kyrgyzstan by Population

Kyrgyzstan is a Central Asian country located in the Tien Shan Mountains, with a population of over 6 million people. Its capital city is Bishkek which is the largest city in Kyrgyzstan and home to more than 1 million people. The city is known for its Soviet-era architecture, vibrant culture and lively nightlife making it a popular destination for tourists.

Other major cities in Kyrgyzstan include Osh located near the Ferghana Valley and known as ‘the City of Sun’; Jalal-Abad located near the Chatkal Mountains and known as ‘the City of Silk’; or Karakol located on the eastern side of Kyrgyzstan and known as ‘the City of Lakes’.

Kyrgyzstan also contains some smaller cities such as Talas located near Lake Issyk-Kul and home to many churches; Naryn located near the At-Bashi Range and home to many museums; or Batken located on the south-western side of Kyrgyzstan and known for its fruit production.

Throughout Kyrgyzstan there are plenty of attractions to explore including mosques, churches, museums, national parks, beaches and monuments. Visitors can also enjoy activities such as trekking or exploring mountains or take part in water sports on Lake Issyk-Kul.

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan 900,111 42.87 74.59
2 Osh, Kyrgyzstan 200,111 40.5283 72.7985
3 Jalal-Abad, Kyrgyzstan 75,811 40.9333 73
4 Karakol, Kyrgyzstan 70,282 42.4907 78.3936
5 Tokmok, Kyrgyzstan 63,158 42.8419 75.3015
6 Kara-Balta, Kyrgyzstan 62,907 42.8142 73.8481
7 Naryn, Kyrgyzstan 52,411 41.4287 75.9911
8 Uzgen, Kyrgyzstan 40,471 40.7699 73.3007
9 Balykchy, Kyrgyzstan 40,111 42.4602 76.1871
10 Talas, Kyrgyzstan 35,283 42.5228 72.2427
11 Kyzyl-Kyya, Kyrgyzstan 32,111 40.2568 72.1279
12 Bazar-Korgon, Kyrgyzstan 27,815 41.0376 72.7459
13 Iradan, Kyrgyzstan 26,311 40.2667 72.1
14 Tash-Kumyr, Kyrgyzstan 23,705 41.3461 72.2171
15 Kant, Kyrgyzstan 20,292 42.8911 74.8508
16 Toktogul, Kyrgyzstan 19,447 41.8744 72.9419
17 Cholpon-Ata, Kyrgyzstan 18,706 42.6494 77.0823
18 Kara Suu, Kyrgyzstan 17,911 40.7046 72.8667
19 Isfana, Kyrgyzstan 17,063 39.839 69.5276
20 Kyzyl-Suu, Kyrgyzstan 17,038 42.3421 78.0064
21 At-Bashi, Kyrgyzstan 15,337 41.1695 75.801
22 Suluktu, Kyrgyzstan 15,130 39.9365 69.5678
23 Kochkor-Ata, Kyrgyzstan 14,925 41.0371 72.4832
24 Nookat, Kyrgyzstan 14,482 40.266 72.6183
25 Kerben, Kyrgyzstan 14,252 41.494 71.7583
26 Tyup, Kyrgyzstan 13,548 42.7276 78.3648
27 Aydarken, Kyrgyzstan 11,968 39.9432 71.3418
28 Ak-Suu, Kyrgyzstan 10,934 42.4995 78.527
29 Kaindy, Kyrgyzstan 10,727 42.8247 73.6758
30 Kemin, Kyrgyzstan 10,406 42.7861 75.6917
31 Batken, Kyrgyzstan 10,266 40.0626 70.8194
32 Sosnovka, Kyrgyzstan 5,996 42.6371 73.8961

Kyrgyzstan: Bishkek

According to Abbreviation Finder, the capital of Kyrgyzstan is called Bishkek. In the local spelling, this corresponds to Biškek. Bishkek is in the north of the country. The Tian Shan Mountains rise south of the city, while the steppe extends to the north as far as the border with Kazakhstan. Around 930,000 people live in Bishkek. This makes it the largest city in the country.

Originally it was a station on the Silk Road. In 1825 a clay fortress was built here by the Kokand Khanate. It was destroyed by Russian troops in 1862. The Russians then built their own fortress and relocated farmers here. In 1878 the place was called Pischpek. Between 1926 and 1991, when Kyrgyzstan was part of the Soviet Union, the city was called Frunze. That was the name of a close confidante of Lenin’s who was born here. With independence, the Kyrgyz form of the old name was chosen: Bishkek.

Neighboring countries of Kyrgyzstan